Due to recent occurrences around the web, you may be thinking about taking a break from Facebook. That should not be the same choice for everybody. In cases like this, just tighten up your account settings. There are ways to extricate yourself from the massive social network if having your data mined for political purposes without your permission sketches you out.
If you’re ready for a social media break, here’s How to delete Facebook.
Deactivating: Facebook gives you two options: deactivate or delete. The first does not seem to be easier.
On the desktop, click the drop-down menu at the top-right of your screen and select Settings.
Click General on the top left, Edit next to “Manage Account.” Scroll down and you will see a “Deactivate My Account” link at the bottom.
If you are on your mobile device, such as using Facebook for iOS, similarly go to Settings > Account Settings > General > Manage Account > Deactivate.
Facebook does not take this lightly. It will do everything it can to keep you around, including emotional blackmail about how much your friends will miss you. Therefore, “Deactivation” is different from leaving Facebook. Despite the fact that your timeline will disappear, you will not have access to the site or your account via mobile apps, friends can not post or contact you, and access to all third party services that uses or requires Facebook for log in will be lost. But Facebook will not delete the account. this means you can reactivate.
If you do not intend to re-activate again in the future, just download a copy of all your data on Facebook—posts, photos, videos, chats, etc.—from the settings menu (under “General”). What you find might surprise you, as our Neil Rubenking found out.
Account Deletion: For your Facebook account to be fully deleted forever and ever;
Go to the Delete My Account page. Have this in mind that, per the Facebook data use policy, “after an information has been removed from your profile or you have your account deleted, the copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere to the extent it has been shared with others, it was otherwise distributed pursuant to your privacy settings, or it was copied or stored by other users. “Translation: the comment you made on a friend’s status update or photo, will remain even after you delete your own profile. And also some of your posts and pictures is likely to stick around for a period of 90 days after account deletion, as well, though just on Facebook servers, not live on the site.
Facebook Legacy Contact
You can provide a contact person who will handle your account after your dead. These can be found under Settings, go to General, and select Manage Account,then proceed to Your Legacy Contact.Immediately this has been done, a notification message will be sent every year from Facebook to confirm if you still want the contact to be the same or in case changes want to be made, unless you decide to opt out of that.
Extra steps can also be taken to make sure that after you die, if the legacy contact does report you to Facebook as deceased, your account gets deleted.